Customer ratings for store NitroPlanes.com

AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)

AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5nateAugust 27, 2014This plane looks cool. that's mostly why I bought it.Price isn't too bad. Replaced tail wheel. Replaced Rudder servo.stripped pretty quickly. Added 4 oz.of lead to the nose to balance it. Way under powered.Cheap nose cone shook at full throttle.so bad that a magnet in the motor came loose.First flight was scary due to it being tail heavy.Had to fly full throttle or it would tip stall. Flaps were a plane saver because without them you would have to land it hot or....tip stall.still had to land pretty fast. SOOOOO I bought a /1000 watt/100 amp esc..370kv motor 100$$. 6 cell 4 amp 45c battery 16x10 prop. New db spinner.50$$. now it performs very well.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 4harrison niemannDecember 5, 2013positives- looks great. flys good. negatives- pilot floating around cockpit. all motor screws heads were striped out tail wheel assembly-THROW IT AWAY ISN,T WORTH YOUR TIME. all control surfaces had to be removed and ca hinges installed. other than that a pretty nice airplane.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5Joe CJuly 2, 2013The CG on this airplane is way off. The best way to deal with it is to cut out the battery channel so that you can move the battery 3 inches forward. See the thread on RC Groups with my post and picture of the battery location. Adding lead to the nose makes the airplane too heavy, but moving the battery up to the firewall after carving out the battery location fixes the problem.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5BryantFebruary 4, 2013I made a build review of this shortly after christmas and its not yet been approved. However the weather here in the greater Reno, Nv area has been good enough that I was finally able get a maiden flight. A quick recap on the build. Very easy build. Though I did have to add A LOT of weight to the nose to get the CG correct. A little more than 4 oz. The tail wheel pull pull set up is a little hokie and is really only any good slow taxing speeds. And on my maiden flight the speed control went south during my maiden flight, resulting in a very hard landing trying to get her back to the run way. After about 30 min and some 2 part epoxy, and replacing the speed control with a known good one I had the little beast up in the air. Take off is pretty simple. Get the bird rolling with a little up elevator to keep the tail on the ground. Then fire wall the throttle. After about a 40-50 foot take off roll it gently took to the air. A couple of clicks for aileron trim and elevator trim, and she flies nicely. As mentioned in other reviews a speed demon she is not. Infact I had to us about 2/3 - 3/4 throttle to make her fly with out having to apply up elevator to keep her from sagging in flight. But......... She is a joy to fly very predictable and tracks very straight and true. My first landing (not the forced one) was a dream come true. No flaps applied and about 1/3 throttle is glided in nicely for a respectable 3 point landing. This is were I learned that the tail wheel set up doesnt have much authority except at slow speeds. This resulted in me not being able to steer the plane away from a nasty landing gear removing curb. Mostly my fault for flying off of the street and not the club flying field. In short I will rate this plane 4 stars because of the speed control and tail wheel issues. Im going to experiment with some different length and pitch props to see if I can get a little better performance and out of her. After which time I will report again. Replacement ESC is a 60 Amp Freewing and battery is a Sky Lipo 4s 3300 40C.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5BryantJanuary 6, 2013Assembly: This kit is super simple to assemble. It can be done only a #1 size phillips screw driver, a pair of pliers and a 1.5mm allen wrench. The hardest part about the assembly was getting the pull pull cables set up correctly for the steerable tail wheel. You can do it by yourself but with the help of my 8 year old I was successfull in making it true with the rudder control surface. The dual elevator servo set up for the is kinda odd but works well. Just take your time to get the push pull rods perfectly aligned so you have even throughs. Other wise you will have an induced roll when the elevator is applied. CG: Even with a Sky Lipo 3300 battery this aircraft is very tail heavy. To run the 3000 battery as far forward as possible and still be able to get it out with out issue I had to carve out a little foam from the slot. To correct my CG issue I removed the spinner and prop and installed about 3 3/4 oz inside the cowling to get a good CG. With just a very slight nose down indication. Taxi test: It tracks very straight and true with the tailwheel set up correctly and a little toe in applied to main gear. Other wise it is kinda twitchy on the ground with out the toe in, even with the tailwheel set up perfect. Sadly I havent flown the Midgit Mustang yet as the weather has been CRAP and COLD. So when I get some good weather I will make a flight review. Im only going to give this 4 stars at this time because of the amount of weight required to get the CG to a safe flyable condition.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 4AntonioDecember 11, 2012I have put about 40+ flights on this bird and it has been a charm to fly. I have a 4s 3000 mah and get about 5 min wot. Landing gear does push through wing with rough landings. unlimited vertical. speed is good for this size but will slow to a crawl with flaps. not hard to fly and does basic maneuvers on stock. other than landing gear pushing through wings and tail wheel assembly not working to my liking I am happy!
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5TonyNovember 24, 2012I had to add a lot of weight to the nose even with a large 3000 4s up front. Plane does come down to a crawl and still stays in the air with flaps down. I did not have unlimited vertical but I also had a lot of weight in the nose and a heavy bat. Speed is mediocre. Very easy to land. Rolls and loops easy to do. Model arrived with no travel rash but the pilot was free floating in the cockpit. I peeled away the plastic from the foam, real easy to do, and installed a tie fighter/storm trooper bobble head. Fun plane overall and easy to fly. Assembly was about 2-3 hours (I took my time.) I would recommend as a third or fourth plane.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5Robert KozakowskiOctober 20, 2012It was easy to assemble. I enjoy the machine screws and not having to glue. I had an experienced pilot (Mike Wargo) take it up for the maiden flight. and it performed exceptional and he said he liked it and liked the way the flaps slowed the airplane. I had him take it up today, a little windy, about 8 to 10 knots and once he got it up , he handed me the transmiter and I really liked the way it flew. No problems and really looked nice up in the sky.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5Robert F.September 17, 2012This plane handles absolutly wonderful. The plane has plenty of power. Flys really good. My favorite plane to fly.
AeroSky 5 Channel Midget Mustang 55" Scale Remote Control Plane ARF (Blue)star rating 5francis riosJune 29, 2012very nice plane strong and easy to bilt i love
Reviews provided by StarProductReviews